The slow grind

• The slow grind

Hi Pokermarket :)

Marcus, 25 y/o from Sweden here. I've been playing online poker since 2007, vast majority of my volume being 6-max NLHE (with a year of PLO mixed in). I started out playing freerolls some time in 2007 and then managed to get my hands on a free $15 bankroll on Unibet in the beginning of 2008 (which included me calling in to their support line having to fake a female voice, strangely enough). Then I ran super hot and also improved a lot quickly thanks to forums/analysis, and I've been winning consistently since then. My highest winning stake over a reasonable sample was 400NL back in 2009, but since then most of my volume has been at 100NL or below. The main reason for this is that I've historically been very poor at managing the 'business' side of poker (as Paul puts it in his introductory video here). I always do well at the tables when I do play and analyze consistently, but my volume varies a lot; sometimes I play regularly for a few months, and then not at all for another few. And I've practically busted my roll multiple times simply due to not playing and then letting expenses drain it (everyday stuff, but also travels, etc). Due to this I've had to rebuild my roll from a few hundred euros multiple times, grinding back up. But in spite of this, I've managed to mostly support myself playing poker throughout these years.

Here's a graph of the latest sample I can find on my computer:

First in BB - pretty steady, as you can see:

Then in € - you can probably spot the two times I had to move down:

This is roughly half 50NL, 30% 20NL, 20% 100NL, and a sprinkle of 10NL, 200NL.
      Winning at 5.53 bb (4.65 EV) over ~300k hands.

So it is clear to me that I could be making a lot playing poker. But I need to let my roll grow in peace, and not get cut so often. (Higher volume would also help, but forcing in hours tend to hurt the quality of my play).